Jazzschool Institute tuition for the 2013 – 2014 academic year is $500 / credit for full-time students (students enrolled in 12 credits / semester or more); tuition is $525 / credit for part-time students (students enrolled in fewer than 12 credits / semester). Private instruction is $1200 / semester.
Tuition is due at the time of registration. (See registration dates listed in the Academic Calendar on the inside front cover of the General Catalog.) Please note: Failure to pay tuition and fees on time may result in dropping students from classes. Students with overdue tuition may not register for succeeding semesters. Transcripts will not be released to students with outstanding tuition.
Students must pay a one-time, non-refundable Application Fee of $100. The Application Fee is submitted along with the Application for Admission.
A non-refundable Registration Fee of $50 is charged per semester. Students registering after the deadline will be charged a late registration fee of $50 (please see Academic Calendar 2013-2014 on the inside front cover for registration deadlines).
New students are required to pay a non-refundable Enrollment Deposit of $100 at the time of their acceptance into the program. Returning students are required to make a non-refundable Enrollment Deposit of $200 on or before June 1, prior to each fall semester, and on or before December 1, prior to each spring semester. The Enrollment Deposit is credited to students’ tuition for the upcoming semester. A late fee of $100 per month will apply to an Enrollment Deposit made after the due date.
Students should expect to pay approximately $300 for texts and supporting course materials per semester.
California residents are entitled to a Berkeley Public Library card. There is a $100 annual fee for a library card for the Jean Gray Hargrove Library at UC Berkeley.
The fee for Challenge Examinations (testing out of a course) is $275 per course.
Official transcripts are issued for a fee of $10 per transcript. Unofficial transcripts are free of charge To request a transcript, please contact the Registrar and Custodian of Records.
Student tuition Recovery Fund (StRF):
Students are required to pay the non-refundable state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) of $.50 per every $1,000 of tuition. California law requires that upon enrollment a fee be assessed relative to the cost of tuition. These fees support the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF), a special fund established by the California Legislature to reimburse students who might otherwise experience a financial loss as a result of untimely school closure. Institutional participation is mandatory.
You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the fol.lowing applies to you:
- You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and
- Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if either of the following applies:
- You are not a California resident, or are not en.rolled in a residency program, or
- Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency pro.gram, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:
- The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.
- The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.
- The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.
- There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
- An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act.
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.
Summary of tuition and Supplemental Fees
- Application Fee (one-time, non-refundable): $100
- Enrollment Deposit (per semester, non-refundable; applied to tuition): $100 (new students); $200 (returning students)
- Enrollment Deposit Late Fee (per month): $100 (See under Enrollment Deposit)
- Registration Fee (per semester, non-refundable): $50
- Late Registration Fee (per semester): $50
- Late Payment Fee (per month): $50 (per terms of the Enrollment Agreement)
- Tuition: $500 / credit, full-time enrollment; $525 / credit, part-time enrollment
- Private Instruction: $1200 / semester
- STRF fee: $36-$39 (one-time, 0.50 per $1,000 of tuition; see under Student Tuition Recovery Fund)
- Challenge Examinations: $275 / course
- Textbooks and supporting materials: $300 / semester (estimated)
- Library fee (annually): $0 – $100
- Transcripts: $10 per official transcript
Total Program Charges
Full-time enrollment ($500/credit): $74,137 (Non-pianists and vocalists); $73,136 (pianists)
Part-time enrollment ($525/credit): $77,339 (non-pianists and vocalists); $76,288 (pianists)